UNESCO World Heritage Sites

There are 17 UNESCO World Heritage Sites in England (one shared with Germany). The first to be inscribed on the World Heritage List (in 1986) were Durham Castle and Cathedral; Ironbridge Gorge; Studley Royal Park including the Ruins of Fountains Abbey; and Stonehenge, Avebury and Associated Sites.

The Tentative List is an inventory of important heritage and natural sites that a country is considering for inscription on the World Heritage List, thereby becoming World Heritage Sites. The Tentative List can be updated at any time, but inclusion on the list is a prerequisite to being considered for inscription within a five- to ten-year period.

The properties on the 2012 Tentative List are as follows:

Previously submitted to the Tentative List were:

The following were submitted within the UK for consideration for the tentative list:

  • The Birmingham Jewellery Quarter
  • The Birth of the Railway Age – railway routes and stations in northern England, some of the earliest railways in the world
  • Blackpool
  • The heroic period of civil and marine engineering in England 1822–1866, Bristol
  • Bronte Landscape and Haworth Village
  • Chester Rows
  • Colchester, Camulodunum and Colonia Victricensis
  • The Dover Strait
  • Historic Lincoln
  • Merton Priory
  • The Norfolk and Suffolk Broads
  • Offa’s Dyke, England–Wales border
  • Former RAF Upper Heyford
  • Wye Valley and Forest of Dean, England–Wales border
  • City of York