South East England

South East England is one of the nine official regions of England, designated in 1994 and adopted for statistical purposes in 1999.  The largest city in the region (by population) is Brighton and Hove, but the Medway Towns, consisting of Chatham, Gillingham, Strood, Rainham and surrounding towns, are currently preparing for a bid in 2012 for city status, which would mean Medway would be unified formally as one city, of similar size to Brighton and Hove. The dominant influence on the region’s economy is neighbouring London. The highest point is Walbury Hill in Berkshire at 297 metres (974 ft).

The region comprises the ceremonial counties of: