North West England

North West England, informally known as The North West, is one of the nine official regions of England.

North West England had a 2006 estimated population of 6,853,201 the third most populated region after London and the South East. North West England is bounded on the west by the Irish Sea, and North Wales on the south west. The region extends from the Scottish Borders in the north to the northern margins of the English Midlands in the south. Geographically, the North West is also known for the Lake District and is bounded by the Peak District and the Pennines to the south and the east. The highest point in North West England (and the highest peak in England) is Scafell Pike, Cumbria, at a height of 978m (3,209 ft).

A mix of rural and urban landscape, two large conurbations, centred on Liverpool and Manchester, occupy the south of the region. The north of the region, comprising Cumbria and northern Lancashire, is largely rural.

The region comprises five ceremonial counties: